Provenance Research

Provenance Research at Museum Wiesbaden

For some of the objects in our collection, a lack of source material makes it difficult to reconstruct the history of ownership during the National Socialist era and whether they may have been confiscated as a result of National Socialist persecution. Even in such cases, however, provenance research can contribute important details on the history of individual objects and the museum’s collections. Since January 2015, Museum Wiesbaden has been the home of the Central Office for Provenance Research Hesse.

Provenance Research at Museum Wiesbaden

At the Washington Conference on Holocaust-Era Assets in 1998, the 44 participating governments, including the Federal Republic of Germany, under mutual recognition of their respective legal systems, agreed to uphold 11 principles regarding works of art expropriated by the Nazis. The goal of the Washington Conference was to find a “fair and equitable solution” for all parties. The German federal and state governments and central cultural associations reconfirmed their commitment to these principles in 1999 with the “Common Declaration, ” calling for German museums and institutions to examine their collections for Nazi-confiscated cultural goods, in particular, those originating from Jewish estates.

Honoring this commitment, Museum Wiesbaden, in the period between July 2009 and December 2014, conducted systematic research on the provenance of 140 paintings in its collection acquired in the years between 1935 and 1945. As a result, the provenance of over half of the paintings acquired under director Hermann Voss for the Wiesbaden collections were examined.

Contact

Dr. Peter Forster
Custos collections 12th to 19th century
Art Nouveau Donation F. W. Neess
Head of Provenance Research
Fon 0611 ⁄ 335 2282
Fax  0611 ⁄ 335 2192
peter.forster@museum-wiesbaden.de

Blog

You can also visit our blog to learn more about the museum’s work in provenance research, in general, as well as follow our progress on current cases, such as, a drawing by Max Liebermann, or the cases of Roelant Savery and the Flersheim familyThe Central Office for Provenance Research Hesse

The Central Office for Provenance Research Hesse

The Central Office for Provenance Research Hesse was established in 2015 on the initiative of the Hessian state government in order to consolidate efforts in the search for cultural assets in Hesse that were expropriated as a result of Nazi persecution.

For further information, visit the website of the Central Office for Provenance Research Hesse.

Calendar

  • Sa
    22 Jan
    11:00—13:45
    Alles in Gold! Gestalterisches Arbeiten zum Jugendstil
  • So
    23 Jan
    10:30—13:00
    Versuche zu Magnetismus und Strom
  • So
    23 Jan
    15:00—17:00
    Thema: Funktion von Farbe in Kunst und Natur entdecken — mit Atelierarbeit

Catalogs of works, archives & estate management

The art collections of Museum Wiesbaden have been shaped by a sustained interest in spirited critical engagement with currents of Classical Modernism, Modern and Contemporary art. Archival research, documentation and estate management must be more than self-referential reappraisal.

Educational programs

Museum Wiesbaden offers a variety of programs for all ages, from guided tours to workshops for preschools and schools, to teacher training and programs for students, private groups, or families with children.

This website uses cookies. By visiting the site you agree to this. More information.

Provenienzforschung

Provenienzforschung am Museum Wiesbaden

Manchmal kann aufgrund fehlender Quellenüberlieferungen die Provenienz eines Objektes während der NS-Zeit nicht restlos bestimmt und folglich ein NS-verfolgungsbedingter Entzug nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Aber auch in solchen Fällen können die Ergebnisse der Provenienzforschung wichtige Details und Informationen zur Sammlungs- und Objektgeschichte beitragen. Seit Januar 2015 hat die Zentrale Stelle für Provenienzforschung Hessen ihren Sitz im Landesmuseum Wiesbaden.

Provenienzforschung am Museum Wiesbaden

Auf der „Washingtoner Konferenz über Vermögenswerte aus der Zeit des Holocaust“ im Jahr 1998 bestätigten 44 teilnehmende Nationen, darunter die Bundesrepublik Deutschland, elf Grundsätze in Bezug auf Kunstwerke, die von den Nationalsozialisten beschlagnahmt wurden. Bei Akzeptanz der unterschiedlichen Rechtssysteme einigte man sich auf diese 11 Aspekte im Umgang mit NS-verfolgungsbedingt verbrachten Kunstwerken. Ziel der Washingtoner Erklärung war eine „gerechte und faire Lösung“ für alle beteiligten Parteien. Ende 1999 bekräftigten die Bundesregierung, die Länder und die kommunalen Spitzenverbände in der „Berliner Erklärung“ diese Forderung und riefen deutsche Museen und Institutionen dazu auf, ihre Sammlungen nach „NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogenem Kulturgut, insbesondere aus jüdischem Besitz“ kritisch zu überprüfen.

Am Museum Wiesbaden wurde deshalb von Juli 2009 bis Dezember 2014 in einem von der Berliner Arbeitsstelle für Provenienzforschung mit Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien geförderten Projekt systematisch die Provenienz von 140 Gemälden erforscht, die im Zeitraum von 1935—1945 für die Kunstsammlung des Museums erworben wurden. Damit konnte über die Hälfte der Gemälde-Erwerbungen, die unter der Ägide des damaligen Direktors der Gemäldegalerie Wiesbaden, Hermann Voss, Eingang in die Sammlung des Museums gefunden haben, untersucht werden.

Ansprechpartner
Museum Wiesbaden

Dr. Peter Forster
Kustos Sammlungen 12. bis 19. Jahrhundert
Jugendstilsammlung F.W.Neess
Leitung Provenienzforschung
Fon 0611 ⁄ 335 2282
Fax  0611 ⁄ 335 2192
peter.forster@museum-wiesbaden.de

Blog

Über die allgemeine Arbeit in der Provenienzforschung sowie über aktuelle Fälle erfahren Sie auch auf unserem Blog — so beispielsweise zu einer Zeichnung Max Liebermanns oder den Fällen Roelant Savery und der Familie Flersheim.

Die Zentrale Stelle für Provenienzforschung Hessen

Die Zentrale Stelle für Provenienzforschung Hessen wurde 2015 auf Initiative der Hessischen Landesregierung eingerichtet um die  bereits bestehenden Maßnahmen zur Suche nach NS-verfolgungsbedingt  entzogenem Kulturgut in Hessen auch institutionell zu festigen.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch auf der Seite der Zentralen Stelle für Provenienzforschung Hessen.

Kalender

  • So
    28 Nov
    10:30—13:00
    Anhänger und Armbänder aus Mineralien und schönen Steinen basteln
  • So
    28 Nov
    14:00—15:00
    Alles! 100 Jahre Jawlensky in Wiesbaden
  • So
    28 Nov
    15:00—16:00
    Kristalle — Vom Diamanten bis zum Gips

Archive, Nachlassbetreuung & Werkverzeichnisse

Der Aufbau der Kunstsammlungen des Museums Wiesbaden ist geprägt von dem Interesse an einer lebendigen Auseinandersetzung mit bedeutenden Strömungen innerhalb der Klassischen Moderne, der Moderne und der Gegenwart. Archivarbeit, Dokumentation und Nachlassbetreuung haben andere Ziele als selbstverweisende Aufarbeitung.

Bildungsangebote
für pädagogische Gruppen

Das Museum Wiesbaden bietet eine Vielzahl an Veranstaltungen für jede Altersklasse an. Ob Führungen, Workshops für Kitas und Schulen, Lehrerfortbildungen, Angebote für Studierende, private Gruppen oder Familien mit Kindern.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.