Movement

Sprinting cheetah

Movement

Three large group studies were commissioned for the Aesthetics of Nature exhibition. The springboks running from a hunting cheetah, the hammerhead sharks on the prowl, and the swans over head all appear to be frozen in action. Their movements appear so natural that you might think you could release the “pause” button and watch them run, swim, or fly away. In this display, even the skeletons are shown in motion.

Everything that lives, moves — be it in water, on land, or in the air. Whether swans in flight, swiftly running antelopes or elegantly swimming hammerhead sharks – animals in motion evoke great fascination. Yet, rapid motion sequences remain hidden from the human eye. A variety of specimens demonstrates the biological requirements of motion and the many variations of swimming, running, and flying that have developed in the course of evolution.

They illustrate the evolution of vertebrates through their unique specializations for walking. For example, there is the very complex ankle joint of the chimpanzee, which gives it the necessary freedom of movement when shimmying in the trees, while the leg joints of the ostrich allow it to move in only one direction. When it comes to locomotion, nature is inventive. As flying fish, masterly swimming land animals or flightless birds all remind us, however, evolution never proceeds in a straight line. Even without legs, fins or wings, animals move within their habitats.

Highlights 

Eadweard Muybridge  (1830—1904)

The “Movement” room offers visitors insight into the human appreciation for the aesthetics of motion and the use of film to document and artistically represent movement. Renowned landscape photographer Eadweard Muybridge was commissioned by a wealthy American racing stable owner to photograph his fastest horse in the stable while running. To do so, Muybridge developed a new recording and playback technique and ended up making photography and film history: First there were 12, then 24 and finally 36 cameras set up in a row, which were connected in series to record the animal as it moved passed the cameras. The result was movement broken down into distinct frames, which revealed that horses hover for a moment at the trot and that the gallop can be seen as a sequence of jumps. The photo sequence provided new scientific insights, prompting Muybridge to continue his motion studies. Bison, cat, elephant, a walking horse, and the racehorse with rider are all available for view in the permanent exhibition of Museum Wiesbaden. Muybridge saw himself as an artist and sought to educate his fellow artists about movement patterns in humans and animals. His photographs of a female nude climbing stairs are of particular art historical significance.

Photos: Eadweard Muybridge, Animal Locomotion, Plate 591, 1887. Boston Public Library CC-BY-2.0
Photos: Eadweard Muybridge, Animal Locomotion, Plate 591, 1887. Boston Public Library CC-BY-2.0

View into the permanent exhibition

left (top) to right (below): Springboks, butterflies, tripod fish, view of exhibit, common jellyfish, macaw and parrot wall, southern cassowary, nautilus, sperm whale, mallard pair, bat, chimpanzee skeleton. Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
left (top) to right (below): Springboks, butterflies, tripod fish, view of exhibit, common jellyfish, macaw and parrot wall, southern cassowary, nautilus, sperm whale, mallard pair, bat, chimpanzee skeleton. Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Calendar

  • Di
    29 Nov
    16:00—18:15
    JUNGE VHS — Forschen und Entdecken im Museum
  • Di
    29 Nov
    17:45—19:45
    Zeichnen und Skizzieren im Museum
  • Di
    29 Nov
    18:00—19:00
    Ernst Wilhelm Nay – Retrospektive

Educational programs

Museum Wiesbaden offers a variety of programs for all ages, from guided tours to workshops for preschools and schools, to teacher training and programs for students, private groups, or families with children.

This website uses cookies. By visiting the site you agree to this. More information.

Bewegung

Gepard im Sprint

Bewegung

Für die Ausstellung „Ästhetik der Natur“ wurden drei große Gruppen-Studien in Auftrag gegeben. Die Antilopen gejagt von einem Geparden, die Hammerhaie und die Schwäne erscheinen in ihrer Bewegung wie eingefroren. Ihre Anmutung ist so naturnah, dass man meinen könnte, gleich würde die „Pausetaste“ gelöst und sie laufen, schwimmen oder fliegen davon. Eine weitere Besonderheit sind die ebenfalls in der Bewegung dargestellten Skelette.

Was lebt, bewegt sich — sei es im Wasser, auf dem Land oder in der Luft. Ob Schwäne im Flug, der schnelle Lauf von Antilopen oder das elegante Schwimmen von Hammerhaien — Tiere in Bewegung üben eine große Faszination aus. Die schnellen Bewegungsabläufe bleiben dem menschlichen Auge jedoch verborgen. Verschiedene Exponate demonstrieren die biologischen Voraussetzungen für Bewegung und die zahlreichen Varianten, die im Laufe der Evolution für das Schwimmen, Laufen und Fliegen entstanden sind.

An ihnen lässt sich die Evolution der Wirbeltiere im Hinblick auf die Spezialisierungen des Laufens ablesen. Da gibt es beispielsweise das sehr komplexe Fußgelenk des Schimpansen, das bei Hangeln in den Bäumen die nötige Bewegungsfreiheit gibt, während die Gelenke am Bein des Straußes nur eine Bewegungsrichtung zulassen. Wenn es um Fortbewegung, ist die Natur erfinderisch. Dass die Evolution dabei nie geradlinig verläuft, zeigen fliegende Fische, meisterlich schwimmende Landtiere oder flugunfähige Vögel. Und auch ganz ohne Beine, Flossen oder Flügel können sich Tiere in ihrem Lebensraum fortbewegen.

Highlights im Raum der Bewegung

Eadweard Muybridge  (1830—1904)

Dass der Mensch schon früh auch die besondere Ästhetik der Bewegung entdeckt hat und in neuester Zeit das Medium des Films zur Dokumentation und künstlerischen Darstellung von Bewegung nutzt, wird im Raum „Bewegung“ sichtbar: Ein vermögender, amerikanischer Rennstallbesitzer bat den bekannten Landschaftsfotografen Eadweard Muybridge, sein schnellstes Pferd im Stall beim Laufen abzulichten. Muybridge entwickelte dafür eine neue Aufnahme- und Wiedergabetechnik und schrieb so Fotografie- und Filmgeschichte: Erst waren es 12, dann 24 und schließlich 36 hintereinander aufgestellte Fotokameras, die in Serie geschaltet das vorbeilaufende Tier aufnahmen. So wurde die Bewegung in anschauliche Einzelbilder zerlegt und es stellte sich heraus, dass Pferde im Trab einen kurzen Moment schweben und der Galopp als Abfolge von Sprüngen angesehen werden kann. Die Sequenzfotos lieferten neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und Muybridge fertigte weitere Bewegungsstudien an. Bison, Katze, Elefant, ein Pferd im Schritt und das Rennpferd mit Reiter sind in der Dauerausstellung des Museums Wiesbaden zu sehen. Muybridge verstand sich selbst als Künstler und wollte Künstler über Bewegungsabläufe bei Mensch und Tier aufklären. Insbesondere mit seinen Aufnahmen eines weiblichen Aktes beim Treppensteigen ging er in die Kunstgeschichte ein.

Alle Fotos: Eadweard Muybridge, Animal Locomotion, Plate 591, 1887. Boston Public Library CC-BY-2.0
Alle Fotos: Eadweard Muybridge, Animal Locomotion, Plate 591, 1887. Boston Public Library CC-BY-2.0

Blick in die Dauerausstellung

v.l. (oben) n.r. (unten): Springböcke, Schmetterlinge, Dreibeinfisch, Blick in die Ausstellung, Ohrenqualle, Aras- und Papageienwand, Helmkasur, Perlboot, Pottwal, Stockenten-Paar, Fledermaus, Skelett eines Schimpansen. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
v.l. (oben) n.r. (unten): Springböcke, Schmetterlinge, Dreibeinfisch, Blick in die Ausstellung, Ohrenqualle, Aras- und Papageienwand, Helmkasur, Perlboot, Pottwal, Stockenten-Paar, Fledermaus, Skelett eines Schimpansen. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Kalender

  • Mi
    29 Sep
    12:15—12:35
    Jugendstil: Der Maler Karl Wilhelm Diefenbach
  • Do
    30 Sep
    16:30—18:30
    Joseph Beuys

Bildungsangebote
für pädagogische Gruppen

Das Museum Wiesbaden bietet eine Vielzahl an Veranstaltungen für jede Altersklasse an. Ob Führungen, Workshops für Kitas und Schulen, Lehrerfortbildungen, Angebote für Studierende, private Gruppen oder Familien mit Kindern.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.