Form

Starfish

Form

„Form follows function“ is the guiding principle of design and architecture, but the same can be said of manifold forms of animate nature. Yet, evolution is neither predetermined nor directed by outcomes or useablity, and not every development process follows this maxim. The external shape or form of a living thing remains a central interest to scientists, as it reveals many of the characteristics that help establish potential relationships between species and trace the stages of evolution.

Like no other room, the „Form“ display presents natural objects, not selected systematically by order, but for their shape. The variety of forms appearing in nature is seemingly inexhaustible — mussels, whose shells are delicately laid in folds or formed in massive cubes, snails that decorate their shells with the shells of other snails, crabs with specialized legs for swimming, others with impressively powerful claws. There are starfish that look like flowers and sea urchins whose quills appear so fragile we forget how dangerous they are. The variety of skull shapes and sizes, from the giant elephant to the smallest of bats, illustrates how natural form always develops in service of the organism. Whether aquatic or terrestrial, every animal and every plant bears evidence of the process of adaptation through evolution, nature’s continual response to the challenges of life in a perpetually changing environment.

The zoologist and philosopher Ernst Haeckel (1834—1919) conducted intensive studies of the symmetries of living nature. His book of illustrations Art Forms in Nature, published at first serially between 1899 and 1904, became so popular that it influenced the art and architecture of the early 20th century with its depictions of Radiolaria and medusae. The exhibition allows visitors to compare the crustaceans and echinoderms with his engravings.

Highlights 

Fruits and seeds 

It is never wise to store an apple or a banana for too long. Over time, it ferments, attracting not only mice and flies, but fungi, as well. To preserve these fruits for exhibition in the long term, casts of them are made instead. That, in turn, presents the challenge of creating a natural surface, color, and occasionally depth. An opened peach reflects light even from its deeper flesh. While most cones, grass seeds, Banksia follicles, and coconut drupes are easy to display, the cones of an araucaria from the gardens of Wiesbaden's Kurpark pose a particular challenge to the taxidermist, requiring creative solutions. Thanks to the use of polyethylene glycol (PEG), some organic structures can be stabilized first, then colored. As the cone grows on the tree it undergoes continual transformation, so the taxidermist selects and presents distinct stages of its development. The variety of shapes of fruits and seeds is immeasurable. Each plant has found unique solutions to widely disperse its seeds, while remaining itself in place. Some leave the job of spreading to the animals, others to the wind and water, and some have special strategies for movement. These various solutions allow plants to overcome quite considerable distances and ensure their continued existence. The burst of the seeds released from impatiens along the forest path is as much an example of this as the tumbleweeds that roll through the streets of western films dispersing their ripe seeds.

Alsomitra macrocarpa
Alsomitra macrocarpa
Samphire. Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
Samphire. Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

View into the exhibition

Seeohren. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Stefan Schmitt
Seeohren. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Stefan Schmitt
Left (top to bottom): Crab showcase, skull showcase, stag beetle, mammal showcase, cowries, bottle gourd, meal swallow nest, articulata (animals with segmented bodies). Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
Left (top to bottom): Crab showcase, skull showcase, stag beetle, mammal showcase, cowries, bottle gourd, meal swallow nest, articulata (animals with segmented bodies). Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Calendar

  • Sa
    02 Jul
    10:00—18:00
    In den Tiefen des Meeres
  • Sa
    02 Jul
    12:00—12:30
    In den Tiefen des Meeres
  • So
    03 Jul
    15:00—16:00
    Highlights Dauerausstellung Natur

Educational programs

Museum Wiesbaden offers a variety of programs for all ages, from guided tours to workshops for preschools and schools, to teacher training and programs for students, private groups, or families with children.

This website uses cookies. By visiting the site you agree to this. More information.

Form

Dorniger Seestern

Form

„Form folgt der Funktion“ lautet der Gestaltungsleitsatz von Design und Architektur, zahlreiche Formen der belebten Natur lassen sich hiernach deuten. Doch Evolution ist weder vorherbestimmt noch ergebnis- oder nutzungsorientiert. Nicht alle Entwicklungsprozesse sind hiervon ableitbar. Die äußere Form oder Gestalt eines Lebewesens ist für Wissenschaftlicher immer noch von hohem Interesse, da sie einen Großteil der Merkmale präsentiert, die potentielle Verwandtschaften zu klären hilft und Evolution nachvollziehen lässt.

Wie kaum ein anderer Saal präsentiert der Themenraum „Form“ Naturobjekte, nicht nach einer systematischen Ordnung ausgewählt wurden, sondern aufgrund ihrer besonderen Form. Der Formenreichtum der Natur scheint unerschöpflich zu sein. Muscheln, deren Schalen in zarte Falten gelegt oder in wuchtigen Würfeln ausgebildet sind. Schnecken, die ihr Haus mit anderen Schneckenhäusern bestücken. Manche Krebse haben hochspezialisierte Schwimmbeine, die Anderen imponieren mit mächtigen Scheren. Seesterne gleichen Blumen und die Schönheit der zarten Stacheln mancher Seeigel lässt deren Gefährlichkeit in Vergessenheit geraten. Verschiedenste Schädelkonstruktionen vom riesigen Elefanten- bis zum kleinsten Fledermausschädel lassen erkennen, dass jede natürliche Form im Dienste des Organismus gut funktionieren muss. Ob Wasser- oder Landbewohner, jedes Tier und jede Pflanze zeugt davon, wie im Laufe der Evolution immer neue Antworten auf die Anforderungen des Lebens gefunden wurden.

Mit den Symmetrien der belebten Natur hatte sich der Zoologe und Philosoph Ernst Haeckel (1834—1919) intensiv beschäftigt. Seine bis 1904 illustrierten Kunstformen der Natur waren populär und beeinflussten mit Darstellungen von Strahlentierchen und Medusen die Kunst und Architektur des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts. In der Ausstellung lassen sich die Krebstiere und Stachelhäuter mit seinen Tafeln vergleichen.

Highlights im Raum der Formen

Früchte und Samen

Einen Apfel oder eine Banane möchte man nicht zu lange aufbewahren. Mit der Zeit gärt es und lockt neben Mäusen und Fliegen auch Pilze an. Um diese Früchte dennoch langfristig in einer Ausstellung zu präsentieren, werden davon Abgüsse erstellt. Schwierig ist es dabei, die natürliche Oberfläche, Farbe und gelegentlich auch Tiefe herzustellen. Ein geöffneter Pfirsich reflektiert auch aus einem tieferen Fruchtfleisch heraus das Licht. So sind die meisten Zapfen, Grassamen, Banksia-Balgfrüchte und Kokos-Steinfrüchte leicht zu präsentieren. Aber bereits die Zapfen einer Aurakarie aus dem Kurpark Wiesbadens bereitet den Präparatoren viel Arbeit und erfordert kreative Lösungen. Dank der Nutzung von Polyethylenglycol (PEG) lassen sich manche organische Strukturen festigen und anschließend kolorieren. Da aber ein solcher Zapfen am Baum wächst und sich ständig verändert, gilt es ein markantes Stadium auszuwählen und zu präsentieren. Die Formenvielfalt der Früchte und Samen ist unermesslich. Jede Pflanze hat andere Lösungen dafür gefunden, ihre Nachkommen weit zu streuen und selbst am Ort zu bleiben. Die Verbreitung überlässt sie den Tieren, dem Wind und Wasser oder einem besonderen Bewegungsapparat. So überwinden Pflanzen ganz beträchtliche Distanzen und sichern so ihre Existenz. Der Beschuss der Samen des Springkrautes am Waldweg ist dafür ebenso ein Beispiel wie die abgebrochenen Salzkrautbüsche, die mit ihren reifen Samen durch die Straßen eines Westernfilmes rollen.

Großfrüchtige Alsomitra
Großfrüchtige Alsomitra
Meerbohne. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
Meerbohne. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Blick in die Dauerausstellung

Seeohren. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Stefan Schmitt
Seeohren. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Stefan Schmitt
li (oben n. unten): Krebsvitrine, Schädelvitrine, Hirschkäfer, Säugetiervitrine, Kaurischnecken, Flaschenkürbis, Mehlschwalbennest, Gliedertiere. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
li (oben n. unten): Krebsvitrine, Schädelvitrine, Hirschkäfer, Säugetiervitrine, Kaurischnecken, Flaschenkürbis, Mehlschwalbennest, Gliedertiere. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Kalender

  • Mi
    29 Sep
    12:15—12:35
    Jugendstil: Der Maler Karl Wilhelm Diefenbach
  • Do
    30 Sep
    16:30—18:30
    Joseph Beuys

Bildungsangebote
für pädagogische Gruppen

Das Museum Wiesbaden bietet eine Vielzahl an Veranstaltungen für jede Altersklasse an. Ob Führungen, Workshops für Kitas und Schulen, Lehrerfortbildungen, Angebote für Studierende, private Gruppen oder Familien mit Kindern.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.