Classical Modernism

The museum’s Classical Modernism collection holds international significance, above all, for its assemblage of over 100 works by Russian Expressionist Alexej von Jawlensky (1864—1941), who spent the last twenty years of his life in Wiesbaden.

Expressionism

Alexej von Jawlensky, Nikita, 1910

Expressionism

After the collapse of the Third Reich, Museum Wiesbaden, too, had arrived at the so-called zero hour, at least as far as its collection of Expressionist works was concerned. Only a few works from the first decades of the once so hopeful dawn of Modernism remained in its collection. After the war, the museum’s Expressionism collection had to be entirely rebuilt, something its then director Clemens Weiler made a central focus of his efforts in view of the museum’s history concerning Alexej von Jawlensky.

Alexej von Jawlensky in Wiesbaden

Alexej von Jawlensky, Self-portait, 1912. Photo: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
Alexej von Jawlensky, Self-portait, 1912. Photo: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

The complex of works by the artist Alexej von Jawlensky, who lived in Wiesbaden from 1921 until his death in 1941, is one of the major focal points of Museum Wiesbaden today. The museum’s initial collection of Jawlensky works, built up in the late 1920s and early 1930s, was purged entirely between 1933 and 1937, as a result of National Socialist cultural politics. All of the works in the museum’s initial collection were either returned to their previous owners or removed from the premises. The museum’s Jawlensky collection today has been rebuilt through strategic acquisition over the last 25 years and now encompasses over 111 works, making it, alongside the holdings of the Norton Simon Museum in Pasadena, California, one of the largest and most significant Jawlensky collections worldwide.

The works in this collection represent all of the major phases of development in the artist’s career — the early Munich period, the Murnau and Schwabing period, exile in Switzerland and the formative Wiesbaden years. Moreover, the collection contains a number of his multifaceted graphic works of exceptional quality, including self-portraits, portraits, and landscapes.

In 2021, on the occasion of the commemorative exhibition The Lot! 100 Years of Jawlensky in Wiesbaden, Marian Stein-Steinfeld (granddaughter of Hanna Bekker vom Rath) donated to the museum the correspondence, containing 40 letters, between the artist and his patron Hanna Bekker vom Rath.

Highlights — 10 out of 111

Hanna Bekker vom Rath Collection

The significance of the museum’s Classical Modernism collection was augmented in 1987 with the addition of the Hanna Bekker vom Rath collection, containing works by such noted Expressionists as Ernst Barlach, Lovis Corinth, Lyonel Feininger, Natalia Gontscharowa, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Paula Modersohn-Becker, Otto Mueller, and Emil Nolde, as well as major works by Willi Baumeister, Max Beckmann, Erich Heckel, Wassily Kandinsky, August Macke and Karl Schmidt-Rottluff. In addition to the important Expressionists Ernst Barlach, Lovis Corinth, Lyonel Feininger, Natalia Goncharova, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Paula Modersohn-Becker, Otto Mueller, and Emil Nolde, major works by Willi Baumeister, Max Beckmann, Erich Heckel, Wassily Kandinsky, August Macke, and Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, among others, were added to the collection through this groundbreaking acquisition in the late 1980s.

The acquisition is inextricably linked to the name of the collector and art dealer Hanna Bekker vom Rath, whose “blue house” in Hofheim in Taunus served as a refuge for many artists labeled “degenerate” by the Nazi regime. Some 30 highly valuable paintings and drawings were purchased from her estate by the Society for the Promotion of the Fine Arts in Wiesbaden and made available on permanent loan to Museum Wiesbaden.

Otto Mueller, Liebespaar, 1917/19. Photo: Museum Wiesbaden
Otto Mueller, Liebespaar, 1917/19. Photo: Museum Wiesbaden

Constructivist Positions

Werner Graeff, Bronzeguss, o.T., 1970er

Constructivist Positions

Constructivism forms an important part of the history of Modernity in Wiesbaden’s art collections, insofar as the “circle of new commercial designers” was established here in Taunus in 1927. The works of artists from this circle, as with those of the Expressionists, were labelled “degenerate” by the National Socialists and eradicated from museums across the country. The first cornerstone of the collection’s Constructivist focus was laid in the years immediately after the Second World War with the acquisition of works by László Moholy-Nagy, Walter Dexel and Erich Buchholz.

By contrast to the Jawlensky collection, there was little expansion to the museum’s Constructivist focus in the 1950s. It was not until the 1990s that genuine expansion occurred when the Vordemberge-Gildewart Foundation in Switzerland bequeathed its vast archive of the Constructivist artist’s works to Museum Wiesbaden. Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart (1899—1962), who in the 1920s was invited by Theo van Doesburg himself to become a member of the de Stijl group, left behind an estate encompassing some 50 000 drawings, typographic works, studies, and guest books, as well as numerous sketches, photos, letters, and other papers belonging to his circle of friends and acquaintances, such as Kurt Schwitters, László Moholy-Nagy, and Theo van Doesburg. The bequeathal of this extensive material has made Wiesbaden one of the most important sites of Constructivism in Germany.

View into the permanent exhibition

(Top left to bottom right): Room view with Natalia Goncharova, Lehmbruch and two works by Max Beckmann; Lovis Corinth, Walchensee, 1922-23; Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart, K 133, 1942; Joseph Vinecky, Sinnende, 1921; Alexej von Jawlenksy, Self-Portrait 1912 and Lady with Fan, 1909; exhibition views looking at Alexej von Jawlenksy, Blue Mountains (Landscape with Yellow Chimney), 1912 and Savior's Face: Resting Light, 1921 and Still Life with Flowers, View with Natalia Goncharova and Gabriele Muenter, Wilhelm Lehmbruck, Tilted Woman's Head, 1911; Max Liebermann, Landscape (Wannsee), c. 1924; Paula Modersohn-Becker, Poor Woman with Goat, 1903. Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
(Top left to bottom right): Room view with Natalia Goncharova, Lehmbruch and two works by Max Beckmann; Lovis Corinth, Walchensee, 1922-23; Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart, K 133, 1942; Joseph Vinecky, Sinnende, 1921; Alexej von Jawlenksy, Self-Portrait 1912 and Lady with Fan, 1909; exhibition views looking at Alexej von Jawlenksy, Blue Mountains (Landscape with Yellow Chimney), 1912 and Savior's Face: Resting Light, 1921 and Still Life with Flowers, View with Natalia Goncharova and Gabriele Muenter, Wilhelm Lehmbruck, Tilted Woman's Head, 1911; Max Liebermann, Landscape (Wannsee), c. 1924; Paula Modersohn-Becker, Poor Woman with Goat, 1903. Photos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Art Prizes

Two art prizes are associated with Museum Wiesbaden. The first is the Alexej von Jawlensky Prize of the state capital Wiesbaden, which commemorates the life's work of the great Russian painter, who lived in Wiesbaden from 1921 until his death in 1941. It is awarded every 5 years with the financial support of the Hessian state capital, Spielbank Wiesbaden, and the Nassauische Sparkasse, among others.

The second is the Otto Ritschl Prize. The artist lived in Wiesbaden from 1918 until 1976. After his early figural and, later, more Surrealist works, Ritschl began, in the 1950s, to move progressively toward geometric and, finally, more expressive abstraction. The increasingly meditative work of his late period, beginning in the early 1960s, focused on immaterial space, shaped entirely through color. The Museum Association Otto Ritschl began bestowing the prize in 2001 in Ritschl’s honor to keep the artist’s name alive.

Calendar

  • Sa
    02 Jul
    10:00—18:00
    In den Tiefen des Meeres
  • Sa
    02 Jul
    12:00—12:30
    In den Tiefen des Meeres
  • So
    03 Jul
    15:00—16:00
    Highlights Dauerausstellung Natur

Educational programs

Museum Wiesbaden offers a variety of programs for all ages, from guided tours to workshops for preschools and schools, to teacher training and programs for students, private groups, or families with children.

This website uses cookies. By visiting the site you agree to this. More information.

Klassische Moderne

Internationale Bedeutung besitzt die Sammlung der Klassischen Moderne vor allem durch das gut hundert Werke umfassende Konvolut des berühmten russischen Expressionisten Alexej von Jawlensky (1864—1941), der die letzten zwanzig Jahre seines Lebens in Wiesbaden verbrachte.

Expressionismus

Alexej von Jawlensky, Nikita, 1910

Expressionismus

Nach dem Zusammenbruch des Dritten Reiches war auch das Museum Wiesbaden, zumindest was seine Sammlung an expressionistischen Werken betrifft, in der sogenannten Stunde Null angelangt. Nur wenige Arbeiten aus den ersten Jahrzehnten des so hoffnungsvollen Aufbruchs in die Moderne waren in der Sammlung verblieben. Somit galt es nach dem Krieg, die Expressionismus-Sammlung völlig neu aufzubauen, was von Clemens Weiler auch sogleich im Hinblick auf die Geschichte des Hauses mit seinen Bezügen zu Alexej von Jawlensky forciert wurde.

Alexej von Jawlensky in Wiesbaden

Alexej von Jawlensky, Selbstbildnis, 1912. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
Alexej von Jawlensky, Selbstbildnis, 1912. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Der Werkkomplex um den Künstler Alexej von Jawlensky, der von 1921 bis zu seinem Tod 1941 in Wiesbaden lebte, bildet heute einen der großen Schwerpunkte im Museum Wiesbaden. Dies ist keineswegs selbstverständlich, da eine erste zu Lebzeiten des Künstlers aufgebaute Jawlensky-Sammlung zwischen 1933 und 1937 aufgrund der verheerenden Kulturpolitik der Nationalsozialisten völlig aufgelöst wurde. Alle Werke, die sich noch 1932 als Leihgabe oder Eigenbesitz im Museum Wiesbaden befanden — immerhin mehr als 20 Gemälde —, wurden an die Besitzer*innen zurückgegeben bzw. 1937 beschlagnahmt und abtransportiert. Die heutige Wiesbadener Jawlensky-Sammlung, die mit insgesamt 111 Werken neben der des Norton Simon Museums in Pasadena (USA/Kalifornien) die umfangreichste zum Werk des Künstlers darstellt, konnte in den letzten 25 Jahren hinsichtlich Qualität und Werkauswahl zur bedeutendsten Sammlung weltweit ausgebaut werden.

Alle Entwicklungsstufen des Künstlers — seine frühe Münchner Phase, der Murnauer und Schwabinger Aufbruch, die Schweizer Exilzeit sowie die wichtige Wiesbadener Periode — sind mit Hauptwerken vertreten. Hinzu kommt, dass im Museum Wiesbaden neben dem malerischen auch das graphische Werk äußerst facettenreich in hervorragender Qualität — u. a. Selbstportraits, Bildnisse und Landschaften — bewahrt wird.

Anlässlich des Jubiläums 100 Jahre Jawlensky in Wiesbaden schenkte Marian Stein-Steinfeld (Enkelin von Hanna Bekker vom Rath) im Jahr 2021 dem Museum Wiesbaden die 40 Briefe umfassende Korrespondenz des Künstlers mit seiner Mäzenin Hanna Bekker vom Rath.

Highlights — 10 aus 111

Die Sammlung Hanna Bekker vom Rath

Zusätzliches Gewicht erhält die Abteilung Klassische Moderne durch die Sammlung Hanna Bekker vom Rath, die im Jahr 1987 ans Haus gebunden werden konnte. Zu den bedeutenden Expressionisten Ernst Barlach, Lovis Corinth, Lyonel Feininger, Natalia Gontscharowa, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Paula Modersohn-Becker, Otto Mueller oder Emil Nolde kamen durch diese für das Museum wegweisende Erwerbung Ende der 1980er-Jahre noch Hauptwerke von u.a. Willi Baumeister, Max Beckmann, Erich Heckel, Wassily Kandinsky, August Macke und Karl Schmidt-Rottluff hinzu.

Der Ankauf ist untrennbar verbunden mit dem Namen der Sammlerin und Kunsthändlerin Hanna Bekker vom Rath, die viele Künstler, deren Kunst während des Nazi-Regimes als „entartet“ galt, im so genannten Blauen Haus (in Hofheim im Taunus) beherbergte. Aus ihrem Nachlass erwarb der Verein zur Förderung der Bildenden Kunst in Wiesbaden e. V. insgesamt 30 Gemälde und Zeichnungen höchsten Ranges und stellte sie dem Museum Wiesbaden als testamentarisch und vertraglich verfügte Dauerleihgabe zur Verfügung.

Otto Mueller, Liebespaar, 1917/19. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden
Otto Mueller, Liebespaar, 1917/19. Foto: Museum Wiesbaden

Konstruktive Positionen

Werner Graeff, Bronzeguss, o.T., 1970er

Konstruktive Positionen

Für die Geschichte der Moderne in der Wiesbadener Kunstsammlung sind die konstruktiven Positionen insofern von Bedeutung, als hier im Taunus 1927 der „ring neue werbegestalter“ gegründet wurde. Von der nationalsozialistischen Kulturpolitik waren die Arbeiten dieser Künstler ebenso wie die der Expressionisten als „entartet“ gebrandmarkt und aus den Museen entfernt worden. Mit Werken von László Moholy-Nagy, Walter Dexel und Erich Buchholz wurde der Grundstein für einen Sammlungsschwerpunkt konstruktiver Kunst im Museum Wiesbaden bereits in den Jahren nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg gelegt.

An die Wiesbadener Tradition der konstruktiven Positionen wurde — im Gegensatz zur Jawlensky-Sammlung — jedoch in den 1950er-Jahren zunächst nur zögerlich angeknüpft. Erst in den 1990er-Jahren glückte mit Hilfe der Schweizer Stiftung Vordemberge-Gildewart der Anschluss an die konstruktive Kunst der Zwischenkriegsjahre. Ausschlaggebend hierfür war, dass dem Museum Wiesbaden im Jahr 1997 der Nachlass von Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart (1899—1962), dem in den 1920er-Jahren von keinem geringeren als Theo van Doesburg die Mitgliedschaft in der De Stijl-Gruppe angeboten wurde, als Schenkung übereignet wurde. Dieser umfasst neben den  Zeichnungen, typografischen Arbeiten, Studien und Gästebüchern von Vordemberge-Gildewart auch zahlreiche Skizzen, Fotos, Briefe und Archivalien von dessen Künstlerfreunden (u. a. Kurt Schwitters, László Moholy-Nagy, Theo van Doesburg). Hierdurch ist das Museum zu einem der wichtigsten Orte dieser künstlerischen Strömung in Deutschland geworden.

Blick in die Ausstellung

v.l. (oben) n.r. (unten): Raumansicht mit Natalia Gontscharowa, Lehmbruck und zwei Werken von Max Beckmann; Lovis Corinth, Walchensee, 1922-23; Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart, K 133, 1942; Joseph Vinecky, Sinnende, 1921; Alexej von Jawlenksy, Selbstporträt 1912 und Dame mit Fächer, 1909; Ausstellungsansichten mit Blick auf Alexej von Jawlenksy, Blaue Berge (Landschaft mit gelben Schornstein), 1912 und Heilandsgesicht: Ruhendes Licht, 1921 und Blumenstillleben, Ansicht mit Natalia Gontscharowa und Gabriele Muenter,  © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Wilhelm Lehmbruck, Geneigter Frauenkopf, 1911; Max Liebermann, Landschaft (Wannsee), um 1924; Paula Modersohn-Becker, Armhäuslerin mit Ziege, 1903. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert
v.l. (oben) n.r. (unten): Raumansicht mit Natalia Gontscharowa, Lehmbruck und zwei Werken von Max Beckmann; Lovis Corinth, Walchensee, 1922-23; Friedrich Vordemberge-Gildewart, K 133, 1942; Joseph Vinecky, Sinnende, 1921; Alexej von Jawlenksy, Selbstporträt 1912 und Dame mit Fächer, 1909; Ausstellungsansichten mit Blick auf Alexej von Jawlenksy, Blaue Berge (Landschaft mit gelben Schornstein), 1912 und Heilandsgesicht: Ruhendes Licht, 1921 und Blumenstillleben, Ansicht mit Natalia Gontscharowa und Gabriele Muenter, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021; Wilhelm Lehmbruck, Geneigter Frauenkopf, 1911; Max Liebermann, Landschaft (Wannsee), um 1924; Paula Modersohn-Becker, Armhäuslerin mit Ziege, 1903. Alle Fotos: Museum Wiesbaden / Bernd Fickert

Kunstpreise

Mit dem Museum Wiesbaden sind zwei Kunstpreise verbunden. Der eine ist der Alexej-von-Jawlensky-Preis der Landeshauptstadt Wiesbaden, der an das Lebenswerk des großen russischen Malers erinnert, der von 1921 bis zu seinem Tode 1941 in Wiesbaden lebte. Er wird alle 5 Jahre vergeben und u.a. gestiftet von der hessischen Landeshauptstadt, der Spielbank Wiesbaden und der Nassauischen Sparkasse.

Als zweites ist der Otto-Ritschl-Preis zu nennen. Der Künstler lebte zwischen 1918 und 1976 in Wiesbaden. Nach anfänglich figürlicher, später auch dem Surrealismus nahestehender Arbeit näherte er sich in den fünfziger Jahren schrittweise der zunächst geometrischen, später eher expressiven Abstraktion. Seit Beginn der sechziger Jahre kreiste sein zunehmend meditatives Spätwerk um einen immateriellen, nur durch Farbe gestalteten Raum. Um den Namen Otto Ritschl lebendig zu halten, vergibt der Museumsverein Ritschl e.V. seit 2001 den ihm gewidmeten Kunstpreis.

Kalender

  • Mi
    29 Sep
    12:15—12:35
    Jugendstil: Der Maler Karl Wilhelm Diefenbach
  • Do
    30 Sep
    16:30—18:30
    Joseph Beuys

Bildungsangebote
für pädagogische Gruppen

Das Museum Wiesbaden bietet eine Vielzahl an Veranstaltungen für jede Altersklasse an. Ob Führungen, Workshops für Kitas und Schulen, Lehrerfortbildungen, Angebote für Studierende, private Gruppen oder Familien mit Kindern.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Mit dem Besuch der Seite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Mehr Informationen.